Secrets From A Fat.. SO?!

Things Mother Taught Me

Deep down, I love my mother. I just don’t like her very much. We don’t agree on many of the same issues and our tastes vary from night to day. It used to be, we set aside our differences and came together anyway. But for the past few years or so, it seems like more and more lately that I’m the one who has to cast the first stone for reconcile and she doesn’t even care if she has a relationship with me. But I digress. As many mean, and truthful, nasty things I could admit to the whole wide world web about my mother, instead I think I will take the high road. Despite everything, they either knowingly or unknowingly taught me many strong core values that have shaped me into who I am today. I of course have to remind myself of all the followings from time to time and it’s good to be reminded.

One.
Always be aware that no matter what you say or do, you will always be a hypocrite. Eventually you will go or do something that contradicts whatever you said or did. If you say you never litter and then spit your gum out on the side-walk, you just littered. When you say you have an open mind but find yourself bias to only certain people’s opinions. Congratulations, you’ve just became a hypocrite. There are few non-hypocrities so it’s just best to just accept you are one and try to catch yourself either before or mid action.

Two.
Life is too short to sweat the small stuff. With all bad things comes the good and the quicker you release any negative attitude the faster the good will happen. If you let people’s negative attitudes slip off you like a duck in water, your day will become a lot more enjoyable. So what if Susie in HR doesn’t like you? Don’t let other people’s problems become your own. When you get in a fight with someone, take some time out for yourself but don’t let it ruin your entire day and remember to move on. I know this can be hard to do but it helps when… *points to number three*

Three.
Find something positive in every situation and more importantly, laugh at yourself! This coincides with number two. The sooner you learn that life isn’t fair and you can’t control everything, the easier life will become for you. Focus on what you can control and find something positive out of it. It’s harder to do when your angry but once you’ve calmed down think of everything you can do to change your current problem.

Four.
Accept your past with all its flaws and don’t dwell on them. Learn from your mistakes. The more time you spend obsessing on something the more time you are wasting right now to put things right. If you can’t make things right, right now, then have the self satisfying notion that you have done everything you could and the rest is out of your hands. Focus on what you can do for your own personal health and focus on how you can change yourself for the future so you don’t fall into familiar bad habits.

Five.
Let your freak flag fly. As far as I know, there are no normal people on the planet. There are always people who think they are normal, people who only think they are cool, badass or “gangster” but not do they fall under rule number one of being a hypocrite, but are delusional. Each and every one of those people has a kryptonite. No doubt one of them used to wet the bed, are afraid of spiders, or have a song they would be deeply embarrassed to be caught hearing. And while these types of people still might be able to wear their label, they are not normal! Accept your freak for who she, or he, are and don’t let anyone embarrass you for it. For instance, when I know I do something dorky or weird, I’ll laugh at myself, shake my head and say, “Man I’m such a dork.” But I’m not embarrassed for it. It’s where I derive most of my confidence from.

Six.
Be open to new experiences and don’t let fear paralyze you from stepping outside your comfort zone. You never know what you’re missing out on so instead of sitting on the couch or computer screen, when your invited out to do something, unless you have serious good reasons, GO~! And not, oh I have to wash my hair. You never know who you will meet or see a side of someone you thought you new. You might see something you once thought as boring, now fun. I am the worst at accepting this one but I am trying.

Seven.
Love unconditionally. Love like you’ll never see them again because you never know what tomorrow brings. Never be afraid to say words of love or fear hold you back from going for what you want. This coincides with six and going out side your comfort zone.

Eight.
Nobody makes change happen but you. Don’t rely on other people to accomplish what you want. If you are unhappy with where you are in life there is always a way to get there, even if takes the super incredibly long windy, fifteen miles in snow, up hill road. Perseverance is everything. I am not the best to talk about this one, for which I know I am a slight hypocrite, but I am always falling and picking myself back up. I will get to where I want to be eventually, as long as I don’t quit.

Nine.
Find any way to celebrate. Tomorrow is never guaranteed and you should make as many memories as you can. Who cares if a holiday is built on lies? Find the essence of what makes that holiday good and share it.

Ten.
Surround yourself with the best of things. I don’t just mean material objects but people you care for. Quality matters in material things as well tho but as my momma always said, you better shop around! Don’t accept the first offer you recieve and do your homework but when you find a gem, don’t hesitate.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

