Secrets From A Fat.. SO?!

The Road to Hell is Paved With Good Intentions

I’m a writer, and sometimes story-teller, by nature even if I have to work really hard to piece every sentence together. And if you believe in Astrology (it depends with my mood), I’m a Sagittarius. I guess meaning that I am a half-asssed perfectionist who likes to write in detail without realizing when I’m sticking my foot in my mouth from my lack of tack. I’ve never really had much of a problem of people in my real life interchanging with my online life so I’m not really used to having a filter what I say, except for Facebook statuses.

I’m not new to the world of blogging, but knowing there are people I see daily read what I write is as foreign of a concept to me as tooth paste on a burger (thanks Chris for that lovely analogy). I’m trying to find a balance of staying true to myself but still have the people in my life be able to look me in the eye. I want the people in my life to know if I ever write anything in this blog, or anything I say to your face, that bothers or offends, that they can tell me. I am not abashed and I will defend what I write to the absurdly offended but I will take into consideration small or minor concerns. I may, and have, gone back to an article and tweaked it to sedate all parties involved.

More often than not, I appreciate the feedback. The more I write the more I enjoy it. The more I write the more I observe in my life and the faster the little hamster in my head runs on his wheel. The more I write there’s more I have to say. The only problem with that is that I sometimes forget about who my audience is. I’ll let private personal details slip out that everyone just may not want to read. Or visualize. And for that, I apologize. But only to that extent. Even with Chris around to help and be the little editor on my shoulder advising, “Sarah, maybe you should rephrase that!” Things still slip past. If that ever happens, I want people in my life to tell me. Just as I would want people to tell me if I had food stuck in my teeth.

I don’t expect the world to agree with me or to see things as I do. That would be foolishly naive. But I hope we can reach a middle and compromise without losing my integrity. Or simply just don’t read what I write. That’s nothing personal and I won’t hold it against you if you don’t like what I say. You should be you and I’ll be me. As long as I enjoy writing, I plan to write. Like I said in the beginning of this entry, I’m new to blogging with an audience. I’m used to being the marauder who complains about not being noticed when I purposely exclude myself from others. So I hope you’ll bear with me. I can promise I will make mistakes, probably many of them. I promise to try to be myself and still be able to make you laugh. I promise good intentions.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

